Proudly Serving Maryland, Delaware and D.C. News Organizations Since 1908

MDDC Press Foundation

The Maryland | Delaware | DC Press Foundation is a tax-deductible organization created in 1998 by the MDDC Press Association to enhance news journalism in Maryland, Delaware and the District of Columbia.  It is incorporated in Maryland as an exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code.

The foundation focuses on nurturing young journalists through the High School Journalist of the Year and Reese Cleghorn Internship programs.  Together, we are building a foundation for the future of journalism.

Please help support the next generation of journalists with your tax-deductible gift to the Foundation.  Donate today through Paypal Giving (requires a PayPal account) or via credit card (uses PayPal engine, but does not require an account).  For the month of December, PayPal Giving will not charge credit card fees and will donate an additional 1% of your gift to the Foundation.

Tom Linthicum is the current president of the Press Foundation. The current board of directors may be found here.

Thank you to our generous donors!

The Foundation also accepts sponsorships for our programs.  For more information, please click here.

Reese Cleghorn Internship Program

Named for the former Dean of the University of Maryland Philip Merrill College of Journalism, the Reese Cleghorn Internship Program supports local publications and developing journalists by providing college students paid, intensive, real-world experience in member publications’ newsrooms each summer. Individual internships may be named after individual sponsors.

Click here for more information about the program.

Internships provide a strong foundation and experience for students and 76% of MDDC interns had a paid job in journalism after graduation. 

Foundation Initiatives

Michael S. Powell High School Journalist Scholarship

Named for a long-time editor of the Frederick News-Post, the Michael S. Powell High School Journalist program awards a cash award of $1,500 to a deserving high school senior.  Since its inception in 1999, the program has honored 16 students.

Capital Gazette Memorial Internship Fund

This special fund has been established in response to the tragic shooting in the Capital Gazette offices that killed editors Rob Hiaasen, Wendi Winters, Gerald Fischman, and John McNamara, and sales assistant Rebecca Smith and shook the entire community. This fund supports interns in the MDDC internship program.

Thank you to our Foundation Donors!

Your donation makes a difference!

Add your donation to support young journalists!

MDDC Press Foundation Donors 

Pacesetter ($2,400 and up)
  • Tom Schmidt
Investor ($1,500 – $2,399)
  • Joseph R.L. Sterne Charitable Fund
  • Jeffrey Kay
  • Carol Melamed *
Advocate ($500 – $999)
  • Christine Barbour
  • Christopher A. Eddings *
  • John League *
  • Tom Linthicum *
Benefactor ($250 – $499)
  • Trif & Stacey Alatzas
  • Greg Conderacci *
  • Tom Marquardht
  • Stephen Nordlinger
  • Frank Quine
  • Dennis Revicki
  • George Solomon, Shirley Povich Center for Sports Journalism
  • Charles A. Tobin, Ballard Spahr *
Friend (up to $249)
  • Heidi & Greg Bathon
  • Laurie Boucher
  • Karen Blumenthal & Scott McCartney
  • Deborah Cornely
  • Karin Coyne
  • Lucy Dalglish, Philip Merrill College of Journalism *
  • Jim Donahue
  • Ira & Jill Gansler
  • Ed Goodpaster
  • Arnold R. Isaacs
  • Riva Eichner Kahn
  • Kathleen Lally & Will Englund
  • John McIntyre
  • Jack Murphy
  • Jean Packard
  • Patrick Pexton
  • Barry & Cecelia Rascovar
  • Elaine & Erik Rifkin
  • Marlyn Robinson
  • Anne Samit, Evidera Outcomes Research
  • Peggy Schiff
  • Lannetta Schmidt
  • Nathan Siegel
  • John Smith
  • Rebecca Snyder, MDDC Press Association
  • Reggie Stuart
  • Ademar Toro
  • Debby & Bruce Vivari